dried II fresh

wasting time (again)

2004-01-14, 8:05 p.m.

Yes, believe it or not.... it's me updating for two days in a row. Or, is it?? (dun dun duuuunnn)

I'm on my way to Orlando.... happily listening to the new Live Coldplay album (which is only slightly less fabulous than the live dvd!). Oh, how yummy they are!

I'm pretty much doing everything but finish that fucking presentation that I have to give in less than 36 hours. Even after I updated yesterday, I still couldn't look at the damn thing. So, I sat at work until about 7pm just dicking around, then told myself, "Oh, I'll just take it HOME and finish it."

Yeah, right.

Let's see.... The Real World was on for two hours (which, of course, MTV will NEVER replay again, EVER), then I had to do laundry, then read a little Harry Potter. Yes, Harry Potter. Because a 900 page book that I've already read before is just what I need right now.

I figure I'll have no excuse when I get to the hotel. Roe (my friend and company sales rep from NYC) is going to be my roommate, but she doesn't get in until tomorrow night.

Ugh. I just remembered that my new boss is already in Orlando, and will more than likely want to review the presentation when he sees me (which won't be until tomorrow if I can do a proper job of hiding.)

Because, naturally, I told him when he left Friday afternoon that it was finished, and that I just had "a little tweaking" left to do.

I am so completely screwed.


Other than the complete nightmare that is my breakout session, this should be a fun meeting. In the "250-hot-sales-reps" kind of way.

Oh wait.... I forgot about the females. Actually there are only 235 hot sales reps. Yeah, the ratio of males to females is slightly skewed, but certainly in my favor.

Don't worry - I hold a strict "look but don't touch" policy at this meeting. There are WAY too many upper-management Suits that I have to act "professional" around.

Which, (hee!) reminds me of my VERY first day at this company.

They invited me to the National Sales Meeting that was being held the week before my official hire date two years ago. For the recreational night, they had everybody go to some place called Field of Dreams in Palm Springs, which had some baseball fields made up to look like Fenway, Wrigley, and some other places that I had absolutely no interest in.

So, while the different teams were getting their swerve on in the tournament, I was getting my drink on in the bar. (I know.... SHOCKER!!) I wasn't prepared, however, for the marketing team to win the tournament, and for the VP to come in and start ordering rounds of tequila.

"PAIGE!! GET OVER HERE!!! You're part of the team now!!"

"Oh Hell."

An hour later I fell on my ass while reaching for my purse and dropped a mustard-covered hotdog down my shirt.

So, if you think about it, there's really nothing I could do at this meeting that would make a worse impression than I did there.


Ok, enough stories for today. I have now not only wasted the morning, but the rest of this afternoon as well. Any progress on the presentation? Hell no.

Here's the plan.... order some room service, work on my slides for a little bit, then watch The Bachelor at 9:00. Because there is no way in HELL I'm not gonna watch 25 hot guys grovel over some girl.

Hopefully tomorrow I'll have something more interesting to talk about because, well... I'm at Disneyworld. And if I don't see something extremely cool tomorrow, I'll be very upset. Plus it's about 60 degrees warmer than where I live, so I need to take advantage of it.

Ok.... I'm completely just rambling at this point. REALLY need to go work now.

feeling... I want to see mickey!!
listening to... gwyneth is such a lucky bitch


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26