dried II fresh

it also matches my couch

2003-03-15, 4:14a.m.

So I guess it's fairly obvious that I can't sleep. I suppose that's what I get for not making myself stay awake on the flight from France like I usually do, but my body wouldn't cooperate this time. The result? My new layout!!

I'm really happy with the result... not that I didn't like the previous design, but this is the first one I've come across that has kind of a personal meaning for me.

I met a very special person in the summer of 2000, who couldn't have come into my life at a better time. His name is Andrew, and he lives in New Zealand, but we met at a meeting my (previous) company had that summer in Hawaii. A couple of months later he rearranged his US vacation he had planned to fly through Memphis, so that we could spend a day together.

Well, for some reason the fates chose the few days immediately preceding his visit to have three major aspects of my life completely fall into shambles. He was on vacation, for pete's sake, and he rearranged his trip to stay with me for a few days and help me work through some of the things that happened. And for the things that couldn't be fixed, well he would lie there with me and stroke my hair as I cried things out.

We're still good friends, and talk on the phone occasionally, but I honestly don't know when I'll ever get to see him again. But even though he's now in a serious relationship and lives 20 hours away, I still think about him almost every week. When he finished the rest of his vacation and went back home, he surprised me with a bouquet of sunflowers at work one day. There was no name on the card... it simply said,

though your garden's gray, I know all your graces
someday will flower, in the sweet sunshower
There was no question in my mind who they were from. It was a perfect line, from a beautiful song, from one of my favorite movies that we watched together. There's nothing else he could have said to me that would've meant more.

So this is the new me, showing a little more of my girly side. Hey, why not?

feeling... a little bit tired (finally!)
listening to... Sunshower -- Chris Cornell
watching... Great Expectations


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26