dried II fresh

yes, I'd like fries with that

2003-03-14, 3:46 p.m.

Wow. I have never been this happy to be home before. And I actually feel a little bit rested, because I got to sleep about five hours on the flight home. I did manage to stay awake long enough to watch Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and I think it was *excellent*! I really hope they can get the next few movies made with all of the same actors, because I don't think it would be the same if they ended up changing any of them. It made me giggle to hear Ron's voice cracking. Hee!

It was so heartwarming to walk through the airport this afternoon and see pictures of Elizabeth Smart everywhere. I almost started crying when I heard she had been found. It truly is a miracle. She looks so much older...(and almost a little bit sad). I can't stand to think of what she's been through, but it must have kept her going to know that her family never gave up hope.




On a completely separate topic, what is up with this "freedom fries" nonsense? I caught so much shit for that last night while I was at dinner with some of my French marketing counterparts in Bordeaux.

Jerome: "So, P, are you going to pour out all of the wine you've bought over here?"

"No. I'm not. Because I'm cheap, and it tastes good."

Yann: "So, P! You just ordered frites (fries). That's un-American!"

"Yeah, well... I can't eat any of this other crap on the menu."

Guilliame: "Hey, P, what do you think of the WAR?"

Ugh. Here we go.

I knew when I showed up to dinner and I was the only one from our New Jersey office there, that at some point the discussion would turn political. But being outnumbered 5 to 1, especially when a LOT of wine is involved, is not my idea of a fun "debate", so I just said that I really didn't want to get into it, but that I support the war on Iraq. I stated my viewpoint, I listened to them talk about the perils of "preventative war", and we both agreed to disagree.

However.

One of the guys (Jerome) then says, "The Americans are basing their decisions on emotions, because of 9/11. *We* didn't have a 9/11, and that is why we see things more rationally."

And I think that that sentiment, quite frankly, is one of the major differences between our cultures, and it pushed a button with me. I said, "You didn't have a September 11th?? EVERYONE had a September 11th. This was not an attack on Americans, it was an attack on freedom and humanity, and if it had happened in any other country, Americans would be just as outraged."

He said that I had an "interesting point", and then we did finally change the subject. We then tried to bridge the gap between the continents by heading to a local club, having about 6 or 7 more drinks each, and stumbling home at 3am. (Not that smart when you have an 8am flight.)

So, anyway, back to my original point... because I consider them to be a major staple in my diet, I will NEVER boycott french fries. I will, however, drop the "french" part if it is absolutely necessary in order to prove my patriotism, but that's where I draw the line. You will never hear the words "freedom fries" come out of my mouth. I'm sorry, but that's just gay.

By the way, Sam was *so* happy to see me. He doesn't seem to be holding a grudge at all! I have until Tuesday to spend time with him, then I go on another overnight trip. But, at least we can have a happy three days together. Hee. He wants me to come rub his belly.


feeling... hungry all of a sudden
listening to...Weather the Storm -- Kenon Chen
about to watch...Meet the Parents


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26