dried II fresh

the rules of sadism

2003-04-19, 2:34 p.m.

This entry is going to stray a bit for me, because normally I wouldn't discuss a scene that takes place in a movie. HOWEVER, if I get so disturbed by something that I am still getting the heeby jeebies about it the next day? It is getting discussed. So be warned... if you have not seen the movie Rules of Attraction and do not wish to be spoiled, don't read. That being said, if you haven't seen the movie, you really aren't missing anything because it sucked donkey ass, with or without this screwed up scene.


I don't get grossed out easily. The sight of blood (usually from my own stupid accidents) has never bothered me, and in my job at least twice a month I'm either in an operating room watching a surgery or elbow deep in a cadaver removing implants that surgeons have practiced with.

It takes a LOT to bother me.

Yesterday I ordered Rules of Attraction on pay per view. All I knew about it was that it was a bunch of college kids who partied all the time, so I'm thinking it'll be a bit of mindless entertainment for a couple of hours. Yeah, I know... no one to blame but myself.

One of the major "plots" was this guy (played by James VanDerBeek, of Dawson's Creek fame) who is getting these anonymous love letters, which he wrongly assumes are from one of the other major characters in the movie. His whole storyline is him following this one girl around making a total ass of himself.

Meanwhile, near the end of the movie, we hear the voice of the actual author of the letters, as she writes her final letter to "Dawson", because she saw him hook up with some random bimbo and she can't believe he did that to her. They finally reveal who it is, as they show a girl drawing a bath, lighting some candles, and the camera settles on the face of some random chick who served him breakfast in the cafeteria. Then they show various clips of her standing there staring at him as he walks by and ignores her.

So, I'm thinking, hmmm... I guess they're showing the "irony" that this is the girl Dawson is so totally in love with from her letters, but he actually has no clue that she even exists.

Noooo.... What they were REALLY trying to do, was squig me out by then having this chick reach for a razor blade, then sloooowly slice her wrist. Then slice the other wrist.

But they don't just leave it at that. OH NO. They then have the camera linger on her face, and start slowly moving side to side, up and down, getting blurrier and blurrier, and I swear to God I got out of my chair, and was pacing the floor going, "Is this completely fucking necessary???"

This was a five-minute scene, people! I actually felt like it was me that was lying there with the blood draining out of me, getting dizzier and dizzier. And to top it off, at one point she looks down at her wrists and her expression is one of, "Oh my God, what have I done?" And you know what? TOO FREAKIN LATE!! Seconds later they pan up to show her lying naked in a tub full of her own blood. Thanks, assholes.

I swear I still get squigged out just thinking about it. So, I felt it was only right to share the love. Heh.


feeling... why would people want to do that to themselves, and more importantly to the person that would find them
watching... HP and the Chamber of Secrets


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26