dried II fresh

when good wine goes bad

2003-04-17, 11:57p.m.

It wasn't my intention to have a four-day weekend, but that's sort of how things worked out. Yesterday was a pretty long, hectic day at work, and I guess I left the office around 7pm. I thought I was doing really well, because it was only Wednesday, and I was already hitting the grocery store and not waiting until the weekend to get food. (Of course, the only reason I hit the grocery store is because I was out of Diet Coke, but that's beside the point.)

So, I get home and start unloading my car. Everything is great.... the food is in the pantry, the milk is in the fridge, all is right with the world.... and then I do the ritualistic last step of my grocery shopping experience. I go out to my car, grab my two twelve-packs of diet coke, and head back in the house to put them in the special spot in the refridgerator that I have preserved in their honor.

The next thing I know, I am seeing stars. Literally.

Somehow in the nanosecond that it takes for me to open the refridgerator door, squat down on my knees and begin to place the diet cokes on the bottom shelf of the fridge, SOMEHOW a bottle of wine becomes dislodged from the rack that I keep on TOP of the fridge, slides OFF of the refridgerator, and falls three feet... only to land solidly onto the back of my downturned head. It then bounces OFF of my head, ONTO my shoulder blade, then glides NEATLY into the side compartment of my open refridgerator door.

Yes, the wine was saved.... my head? Not so much. Within minutes I had a golfball sized lump on the back of my noggin.

I suffered through the rest of the night intermittently wondering: why the hell hasn't Carmen been voted off of American Idol, who does this cocky Bachelor fuck think he is, and why in the HELL do I keep wine bottles on the top of my refridgerator???

I totally could have gone to work today, but after the exhausting week I've had, and the freaky dreams I had last night (one dream I was being pulled via rope around a swamp by some giant fishy thing, with no one even knowing where I was....) Yeah, well anyway... I could've gone to work but my head hurt like a bitch so I didn't.

So I guess I've used the old "I-got-knocked-out-in-my-kitchen-by-a-bottle-of-wine-so-I-didn't-feel-like-going-to-work" excuse for this year. I guess I'll have to come up with something better for next week.

Happy Easter!

feeling... a little foggy



dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26