dried II fresh

wasting money

2003-06-26, 3:38 p.m.

I picked up the new Harry Potter at the airport yesterday. What's bad is the fact that another copy was actually on a UPS truck, on its way to my house, because I had already ordered it from Amazon.com. (Heather is shaking her head disapprovingly right now.)

I couldn't help it. It was just staring at me through the window of W.H. Smith, and it was on sale!! So if anybody wants to read it, I erm, have an extra copy.

I know of at least two people reading this who don't get the whole "Harry Potter" thing.... it's not like I'm obsessed with it. I just love to read, I loved the first four books, and I had a couple of free hours to get started on the fifth one. That, and I hate waiting.

Between the outbound and return flight, I'm into it about 200 pages (of an almost 900 page book). I'd planned on reading it over my time off next week, but at this rate I'll be finished with it by Saturday.

Actually, I've been thinking today that next week may not be the best time to take off work. The problem with taking vacation time but not actually having real plans to go anywhere is that I feel like I'm just being lazy. I have all this work to do, and taking four days off just to sit around and read or go to the pool doesn't sound very productive. But if I don't take it now, there's never going to be a better time to do it, and I'll probably just lose the time.

I guess I'll see how I feel about it next week. Maybe just take Wednesday and Thursday off, since I already have Friday off for the 4th.

I think I'm going to call it a day and go home now. The surgeon that I was meeting for dinner last night wasn' t able to show up until 11pm because he was stuck in a surgery, so I didn't get back to the hotel until about 1:30, then I had to get up for an early flight this morning. I feel a migraine coming on, and I'm really feeling the need for a nap.

Who am I kidding? My ass is going to be reading that book as soon as I walk in the door.


feeling... the amazing race is on tonight... yay!!
listening to... if you leave --OMD
someone got here by searching for... lesbian ear piercings


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26