dried II fresh

baby's all growns up

2003-05-06, 1:15 p.m.

Guess what I did this morning? I made my bed! Hee!

Kristine came over last night about 8:00. For about an hour and a half before that I had time to go buy some beer and snacks, and then straighten up my den and kitchen (which actually weren't that bad to begin with). I closed the door to the back of my house, and began to make rotel cheese dip.

When she came in she was all, "Oh your house is so *cute*!" She walked around a little and said, "It's not *that* bad!"

I began to shower her with beer and junk food.

After I was sure she had finished her second beer, I said, "Are ya ready??" I opened the door to my bedroom, and talk about Shock and Awe.

"Aaahahahaha! Oh. My. God!!!"

After she got through ribbing me for a few minutes, she jumped right into Mother Mode. Making and sorting piles, throwing out anything that (I hope!) was junk, and even straightening my closet! We had so much fun. Man, she was like a little nazi!

"What's in here?"

"Ummm, I think this is a box of my old '80s cassette tapes."

*eyeroll*

"Put it on the shelf in your closet. I made some room up there."

*points to something*

"What is that?"

"Well, it's... ummm, I'm not sure."

"Ugh! Get rid of it!"

Two hours later, and in the words of Tangina, "This house is CLEAN!!"

Halle-Freakin-Lujah!!


Tom called me from his hotel in Chicago around midnight.

Dude. It's called "consideration". Look it up.

I did talk to him for a few minutes, but our conversations have gotten so weird. Ya know, for someone who (in one of our first talks) told me that he HATES it when "women read into things that [he says]", he sure is doing that a lot with me lately. He makes little snarky, but "fishing" comments about how I'm not nice to him anymore, or he bets I'm not really looking forward to seeing him in South Carolina next week.

Our company is having a meeting for some of our surgeons at Kiawah Island, SC, and I'll be there from Wednesday through Sunday. While most of them are off golfing the entire time, I'll be off getting my tan on at the beach.

He asked me, "So, are you gonna fix the room arrangements for us?"

Surely you jest.

"Ummm, no. I think I'll just leave that one to chance." After last week's close call there's no way in HELL I'm having my name associated with anything related to adjoining rooms. Especially at a resort that will be occupied soley by fellow employees and our customers.

He seemed to actually be offended, but come on... gimme a break. I honestly have no *clue* what is going on with him at this point, and trying to talk to him about *anything* personal usually results in me wanting to jab an ice pick through my temple.

"Hey, Tom? Do you remember *anything* that you read about me the other day?"

"Yeah, I remember almost every one of those things. (excitedly) You like to sing! Sing something!. Come on, sing a song for me."

grrrr.

"Nevermind."

"Wait, there was *something* that stuck out in my mind.... Hold on....."

"Seriously. Nevermind."

I guess I only have myself to blame for expecting more out him, but he DID ask to read it. Don't ask something extremely personal about me if you couldn't give two shits about the answer.

I know that ever since the trip I have backed off, and I really think that he has no idea what to do about it. It's a shame really.... we used to be such good friends and we have probably screwed that up for good. It'll be interesting in Kiawah, that's for sure.


Woo HOO! Office services just delivered a FedEx package to me. Two of the reps that I had dinner with in San Diego were staying at the W Hotel. (PSA: If you've never stayed at one, pick a groovy location, get your ass on a plane, and stay in one. Now. They're awesome!) I told them that I had the first cd that the hotel offered, and that it was awesome baby-making music. Well, those sweethearts stole volume II and just sent it to me! And by "stole", I mean that one of them will be surprised with a $27 charge on his VISA card. Heh.


That reminds me -- I'll never be able to listen to Norah Jones again without thinking about dinner with them that night. Her song came on overhead at the restaurant, and I started singing, "Don't know why I didn't come...."

So the word is "call" and not "come". That song makes *much* more sense now.

feeling... clean
listening to... back to life -- soul II soul


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26