dried II fresh

harmony, my ass

2004-08-12, 9:01 p.m.

Today one of our NY reps came into the office, and said that he was interviewing with Denny, our marketing VP, for some positions that are opening up in January. This struck me as odd, because I hadn't heard we were looking for anyone but associate product managers.

Incidentally, Denny told me about a month ago that he would probably hire one of these associates to put under me, so that I could get management experience. However, I haven't heard anything else about it, so... I'll believe it when I see it.

So Larry didn't have any idea what they were looking for, but was hoping it would be to work with a company that we just acquired. We chatted until it was time for them to meet, and then I chowed down on a carrot cake that he brought me. (What a sweetie!)

He came back a little while later, and said (a little disappointedly) that it "just for an associate". He said that he told Denny (quite accurately) that at his current pay as a rep, it really wasn't what he was looking for.

So here's the kicker... he said that Denny said, "Well, obviously you would be an exception." Meaning, that even though they would hire him as an associate, that he would make much more money than an associate normally would - and I'm guessing, probably more than what I'm making, or close to it.

Now, I love Larry to death. He and Matt and Roe (who is his sister) have become really good friends of mine, and I don't wish for him to make less money than he's worth. I have no problem if he makes more money than I do. That's not the issue.

It's the principal of the thing.... He's never been a product manager, and it just seems to me that you should earn your salary based on your experience. I've had ten years of experience in marketing, starting out as a marketing associate, then associate product manager, then product manager, now global product manager. And my pay has escalated accordingly, as it should.

It doesn't seem right that you can come into a position that you have no experience at, and earn equal to or more than the person you're ultimately going to be reporting to, just because you make that money now.

I guess it's really none of my business, and he really would be an asset to the team, but if they're going to pay him the money anyway, why not just make him the same title? Whatever.

He mentioned a couple of people that he might work for. Mark, Dave, Paul.... Here I am thinking, "Well shit, am I getting screwed out of this again?" I asked him, "Did he mention one in my group?" He looked at me and said sheepishly, "Well, yes, no offense but... I told him you were awesome, but that I'd rather work for one of the other guys."

Heh.

Now, if that had been anyone else, I WOULD have taken offense. But quite honestly, I wouldn't want to be his manager either. Good friends are hard to come by, and I wouldn't want to screw it up just because I end up being some psycho manager who's always second guessing his work because nobody can do it right but me. Not to say that's how I'd be... But it's possible. I have a hard time even delegating things to our admin assistant. Granted, she's a twit, but you get the point.

Yes, I think I'd prefer to have some fresh-out-of-college, eager, moldable young man to be under me. Snerk.

And tall. Mmmmm.


On another note, Larry told me that he was going on a first date tonight. Somebody that he met on e-harmony.

I said, "Is that the one where you have this three-thousand question profile to fill out, and it's supposed to find your "soulmate" based on your personality and interests?"

"Yeah... it was pretty long. But it's cool because I met somebody on there right away."

"Hmph."

"What's wrong?"

"Well, I spent, like, two hours filling that thing out. Then I get this return email that says 'We're sorry, but you sound like a crack ho, so piss off.'"

"What??"

"Well, it might as well have. It told me that they were sorry, but e-harmony isn't for everyone, and they couldn't find anyone that was a match for me."

"Ha!"

"Anyone, Larry. Not one person. I mean, this is the fucking internet, for Christ's sake. Thousands and thousands of people on e-harmony, and they couldn't find one match????"

"Oh my God....!" (giggle)

And with that he left for his date.


What Flavour Are You? Cor blimey, I taste like Tea.Cor blimey, I taste like Tea.

I am a subtle flavour, quiet and polite, gentle, almost ambient. My presence in crowds will often go unnoticed. Best not to spill me on your clothes though, I can leave a nasty stain. What Flavour Are You?


feeling... maybe I should fill it out again
watching... rescue me


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26