dried II fresh

dream themes

2003-09-26, 12:33 a.m.

I don't remember my dreams all that often. Whenever I do, though, there are two recurrent themes.

The first theme is that I'm still in school, and it's either exam time - or something equally unpleasant. More often than not, I'll be about to graduate, and I'll be missing this one credit, and I'll discover that I had forgotten about the class altogether and had never been to a single one.

Sometimes it's a math class... I can also remember a science class. Several history classes too, where I would be required to read entire books in order to pass the exam.

Last night? Some sort of speech/drama thing.

Again, it appeared that I missed the first couple of classes, and I didn't understand a single thing the professor was talking about. He was reviewing these two books that I was already supposed to have read, and was now required to act out in front of the class. But it was some sort of dramatic interpretation type thing, that - even when I asked him to clarify - I still just didn't get it.

Everyone else in the room was nodding at him understandingly.

And these dreams seem to go on FOREVER. The whole dream is just one big panic attack, and I don't know why - by this time - I just don't go, "Fuck you, Mr. Professor. I'm dreaming." No, instead I'll wake up all freaked out, thinking I'm supposed to be studying for some exam on post-war modernization or calculus or some other such crap.

The other theme kind of falls at the other end of the spectrum.

In these dreams, I'm being attacked by some sort of "being".... maybe a vampire, or a werewolf thingy. Usually all of my other friends have been killed, and I'm fighting for my life.

Two nights ago, I had one such dream. And it was so long, and so bizarre, that I wrote down a page of little key words that would let me remember the whole thing.

As a side note, I left this entry unfinished because I needed to leave for a late dinner, and now I'm a bit intoxicated. But, so that people don't start thinking I've completely disappeared, I'll put forth my best effort to finish this.

Because I'm sure you're all on pins and needles by now.

So.... the key words.

mansion

driving miss daisy

movie sequal

grandma's house

hiding

pantry door

Michele (my sister)

covered

finds us

make him dinner

play music

nice

we know

he's sorry

wife

I run

sandy hill

follows

concert

village

pencil

fire

You know, it's funny. When I wrote out those words, it all made sense at the time. Now I don't remember what the hell that was all about.

To make a long story short, I was in some kind of movie sequal, where I knew that the suave dude was going to turn into some sort of killing machine. Conveniently, this was at my grandma's house, so I knew just where to hide.

Unfortunately, after I climbed up the secret passageway through the pantry, my friends didn't cover me up well enough with the dishes and towels and crap that were in there. We were all caught, and we knew he was going to kill us, and HE knew that WE knew he was going to kill us, so it was decided that we could all just relax for a bit, and he had us make him dinner.

Apparently (from the key words) some drama happened where, ya know, he's real sorry and all... but had to start attacking us anyway. Somehow I escaped, and ended up running through the woods.

This all happened like a tv show, where it would cut to me running, then cut to him killing my friends, me running, him realizing I'm gone.... Then it was all about him chasing me.

Suddenly, after I climbed the big hill made of sand, and trespassed through the grunge concert without a ticket, I stepped out into the middle of a village.

I was standing there, and then suddenly he appeared. Then I stabbed myself in the neck with a pencil.

"Ha ha!!" he said. "You can't kill yourself. Only I can kill you."

Suddenly, a tribe of jungle people appeared with torches, and lit him up like a 4th of July parade. It appears that somehow I got word to my tribesmen that he was trying to kill me, so they thought it was HIM that stabbed me with a pencil. Everyone was safe.

See? See what I did there? I selflessly killed myself with a pencil.

Yeah, I know I'm gonna regret this entry tomorrow.

feeling... and my point was??
reading... kitchen confidential --anthony bourdain


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26