dried II fresh

world's wildest army convoys

2003-03-21, 7:46 a.m.

It's amazing what a pint of Baskin Robbins mint chocolate chip can do. I feel so much better than I did yesterday. Tired, but better.

We had our first casualties of the war yesterday. Twelve soldiers died in a helicopter accident (of all things) and one marine was killed in combat. I just can't help thinking that this is going to get so much worse in the next few days. I'd like to be optimistic and think that maybe they have disrupted the leadership, thereby eliminating the need for a full-blown attack, but that kind of feels like wishful thinking.

I had the tv on while I was doing some work last night, and it was one of the most bizarre things I've ever seen. A CNN news crew was riding along in a convoy of humvees, giving commentary on what the camera was picking up. I realize that the world is more accustomed to these types of things because of the surge of reality television, but do they have to make a major world war look like an episode of COPS? What if, God forbid, they happened to meet more resistance during this "groundbreaking journalism" (a direct quote) and this time it wasn't so "harmless"? Are we supposed to get a play by play on that action as well?

I just don't get it. It just seems inappropriate to me. Maybe I'm wrong to prefer to be left in the dark.... to not want to see what our 19 year boys have to look at, day in and day out, or wonder what's going to happen the next time they come upon a small clutter of buildings.

I do have the option to change the channel, and that's what I'll do. I don't know, it just bothers me because even one of the news anchors questioned, "What are the families thinking that may be watching this? As they watch their sons and daughters ride into battle..."

Like my mom always told me, "Well, if you have to ask...??"

My impression is that some of the coverage is being done more for entertainment value than for "journalism". And that, to me, is just wrong.

In my humble opinion.


feeling... sad



dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26