dried II fresh

staring at the sky

2003-03-19, 2:48 p.m.

From an article on CNN.com,

The senior official said that "it obviously is no surprise to anyone that a strike is coming" and that beyond an evaluation of weather and other field conditions, it could be in the U.S. interest "to leave them staring at the sky for a little bit".

That statement really made my stomach sink. I'm not oblivious to the fact that we are about to go to war, but I guess I am one step removed from it, in that I don't know anyone personally that has gone over there, and *especially* since it will not be fought on our own soil. I can't even imagine. Well, I take that back... I guess 9/11 showed us what war here would look like, but to have to anticipate it? To sit there in your home, listening to the silence, waiting for that all-too-familiar whistle of a missile flying overhead?

I guess I take it for granted that I'll never be in that position. That my country is too insulated - too well protected to ever have to worry about my local grocery store being taken out by a bomb, or my home being hit with artillery shells. But what if? Two years ago if someone had threatened to take out New York City or the Pentagon, I wouldn't have given it a second thought. And I guess that's partly what they counted on. No, I guess we really can't take *anything* for granted at this point.

God forbid, if anything like that ever did happen in our country, at least I know that we (the people) would be put first, and that the best military forces in the world would be there to defend us. God help the civilians in Iraq, whose government cares nothing about their safety or welfare.

This entry isn't intended to be any kind of "statement" either for or against the war. It's going to happen... more than likely in just a few hours. I guess this is my way of saying that I will be praying for our troops that are over there, fighting for our right to live the way we do now - in peace. And I will also be praying for that young mother in Iraq, as she holds her children close to her and stares at the sky. I can't think of a more frightening position to be in.


feeling... greatful
praying... for the safe return of all of our troops, and the wisdom of our President


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26