dried II fresh

resolve

2003-06-13, 3:08 p.m.

I had another inner debate this morning... what in the blazing hell do I do now?

Here's the thing.... regardless of whatever line we crossed, or however either of us may be feeling about the situation, Tom and I are still going to have to work very closely together.

I wrote his surgeon a pretty important email yesterday and copied Tom on it (standard operating procedure), and even though I got a return receipt that he read it, he didn't make any sort of reply.

I need to know that when it comes to his surgeons or anything else business related, that he will be as professional and considerate as he always has been, and that I don't have to worry about him ignoring or avoiding me just because it may be awkward.

I thought about letting him stew for a bit - with him as the sales director for a very large region, and me as marketing support/new product development, I could potentially make his job very difficult. Potentially. If I was a bitch.

Which I'm not.... but I could at least make him wonder about that for a second....

Then I realized that by delaying the inevitable and hoping that he's stewing, I was actually doing a little bit of stewing myself, and was letting my girly side take over.

So, I decided that I was going to resolve this once and for all, and called him.

I didn't launch into a "why haven't you called me..." or even a snarky "I thought maybe you died..." I simply said,

"Look. I just want to make sure that no matter what's happened, that we're still going to be able to work together."

What I got in return was "Oh, nothing's happened, I've just been so busy.... traveling here, and here, and here.... yeah, nothing's happened.... blah blah blah blah blah."

Look Smackoff, I didn't ask you where you've been, I didn't ask you for an explanation. What I want is for you to treat me with some respect and professional courtesy, and to not insinuate that I've imagined there's actually a problem in the first place.

And yes, you ARE avoiding me when you tell George that he needs to meet you for dinner Saturday night because you can't find anyone else from marketing to go, and you never even called to ask me.

Of course I only think this as I flip him my mental finger, and I ended the call pleasantly and wished him a good trip to the Big City.

I'm sure he doesn't know what to make of the call, because *I* don't even know what to make of it, but at least I've done my part to try to make things normal again. Well, I don't guess they'll ever be normal.... but they certainly don't have to be miserable.

So anyway... I guess this is done. I appreciate the feedback and honest comments over the past couple of months (you know who you are!) - you guys have been really great! I guess I'm going to have to find something new to talk about now, huh?

I hope you all have a great weekend!


feeling... it's funny how all the defintions of "resolve" apply here
listening to... hello it's me --todd rundgren
current weather... flash-flood warning


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26