dried II fresh

moving on

2003-06-12, 1:46 p.m.

I just overheard some of my co-workers talking, and one of them referred to "dinner in the city with Tom". Naturally, my ears perked up at this, and I started paying more attention to the conversation.

Turns out, Tom is bringing one of his surgeons to New York this weekend, and was calling around trying to get one of the marketing people to join them. Pretty much EVERY marketing person it seems, but me.

I can't really describe how I feel about this. I haven't spoken to him since last Tuesday, and even then it was an awkward "how've-you-been-I'm-fine-what's-going-on" type conversation. The last thing he said was that he needed me to come out to Houston and meet with one of his docs, and that he'd call me the next day at work to discuss it.

Haven't heard from him since.

Over the past week, several weeks actually, I've been torn. There's the girly side that has wanted to call and find out why I was no longer cheat-worthy, since at one point he obviously had no problem with it. Then there's the stubborn, proud, non-girly side that internally told him to go fuck himself, and that this was what needed to happen anyway.

I guess I didn't figure that he would actually avoid me, and it hurts.

It also pisses me off. He's the one that started this bullshit in the first place, and I knew it was going to turn out badly.


I just received a call from the other sales rep in Houston, who I'm also good friends with. We were discussing the project I'm doing with one of his docs, and I casually go, "So, Tommy's coming up this weekend, isn't he?" He thought about it for a second and goes, "Ya know, I think he did say that he's heading your way this weekend. I think he's bringing his family too... big Yankees game, or something."

Jeezus. I'm such a schmuck.

Well, at least he has a good excuse for avoiding me. Heh. Kristine and I are actually going to be at a party in the city on Saturday night, so maybe I'll have the good fortune of running into him and the fam.

Because that would just be so funny.


feeling... I HATE having a girly side
listening to... the sky is broken --moby


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26