dried II fresh

a question of race

2003-06-04, 5:46 p.m.

The following conversation actually took place between my coworker and me earlier today:

Dave:
"So, uh, P..."

Me:
"Yeah?"

Dave:
"Um, what would you say your race is?"

Me:
*blank stare*

Dave:
"I mean, what would you put on a form if you were asked what your race was?"

Me:
"Um, I'd probably go with... caucasian??"

Dave (looking confused):
"Yeah, that's what I thought... Me too."

Me:
"Heh. So whatcha doin?"

Dave:
"I'm pre-registering the baby."

Me:
"To do what? Live??"

Dave:
"Smartass. No, we have to fill out these forms so the hospital is expecting us when Sara goes into labor."

Me:
"Aaaand, you don't know what your race is?"

Dave:
"Well, er... Sara filled them out."

Me:
"Well, what'd she put?"

Dave:
"Um..."

Me (grinning):
"What??"

Dave:
"Human."

Me:
*blank stare*

Dave:
"Yeah. Human."

Me:
"Heh. Heheh! Ahahahaha!!!"

Dave:
"Yeah, dude. I don't know."

Me:
"HUMAN??? AAAHAHAHAHA!!!"

Dave:
"Great."

Oh, that poor girl got ripped on for hours! In her "defense" (and I use the term loosely) there was a blank to fill in for both race and ethnicity. I suppose there could be some confusion. But human?? Hee!

feeling... human. *snicker*
listening to... central reservation --beth orton
current weather... 51 degrees, raining


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26