dried II fresh

silence of the hamsters

2003-06-06, 3:34 p.m.

I had a very strange dream last night. I find it fascinating that the subconscious can take something as simple as an email that you receive, and transform it into a beautiful montage of images where one thing has abolutely NOTHING to do with the other, yet it all somehow makes perfect sense at the time.

Recently I received an email from Parx, who I've been "communicating" with in my friend Nappy's guestbook (Parx being under the alias Lorrie Fair). He stated that he had visited my diary, and requested that I give him a little background info so that he could fill in some of the missing gaps.

I wrote back, and told him that I might do a bio page soon, but in the meantime here's my story, here's what I do, blah blah blah. Oh, and if he had time, check out my "101 things" page, because it might tell him something too.

What I received in return was a hysterical synopsis of the "facts" that Parx picked up from the entry. Now if you don't recall, when Tom read the same entry, I got quite a different reaction, and it really bummed me out - particulary because this was someone that I had a lot of feelings for. Heh - here's part of the email I got back from Parx:

"At any rate, I looked at [your] 101 briefly. This is what I caught.

> Pass on red and black beetles.
> Gorillas make good cheerleaders.
> A stitch in time could save you 25.
> Braces should be available, regardless of dental opinions.
> There's nothing like being pulled behind a truck on a sled.
> Willy! (a hamster I had in college)
> Half the U.S. is geographically challenged, so no worries.
> "If I was stranded alone on a desert island, I would be fine as long as I had cable." No wonder you and Nappy get along.
> Something about watching sailboats in the sunshine of summer while eating mint chocolate chip ice cream, feeding strays on acres of preserved land where there are no trains!
> And though candles are fun to smell and watch yourself while drinking Bordeaux ... bath tubs are not optional seating areas."

Now, if you haven't read my 101 Things, then that will make absolutely NO sense. To me, that's pretty much my life in a nutshell!

So, back to the dream -

I was in a department store, and I see these two women trying to make for the exit like they were shoplifting. In their hands, however, were hamsters. I overhear them saying, "They're dying! We have to hurry!"

I turned a corner, and there was this hidden area in the building that had aquarium upon aquarium of hamsters and gerbils that had been left there to die. Horrified, I began to climb up on some stacked chairs in order to reach over the top of the aquariums. These babys weren't going to die on my watch.

As I grabbed a handful of the little guys that looked closest to death, every single one of them suddenly sprang to life and started attacking me - biting my flesh and flinging themselves into my hair.

This surprised me a bit, so my natural reaction to jump back caused the stack of chairs I was balancing on to become unstable and tumble to the floor, carrying me and twenty-odd hamsters along with them.

Next thing I know, I'm at the beach. I'm sitting on the back of a boat with a couple of friends, and they're helping me pull out stitches that I had received as a result of my hamster incident.

One of them makes a comment that they are about to go skydiving, and asked if everyone was ready to go. I said, "Hey, I want to go!"

One of them answers, "I'm sorry P. You'd hurt yourself." And they all turn around and walk away.

Now, I don't know about you, but it's a sad day indeed when you're not even allowed to be daring in your own dreams. I should have been going "WOOO! I'm skydiving! Freebird!!" But, no. I'm stuck removing the rest of my hamster stitches alone while the rest of them march off to get their sky jollies.

So Parx, if you're reading this, you should know that your email definately left an impression on my subconscious. Granted, it reminded me that I shouldn't try to do anything that could involve actual movement, but still... thanks for making me laugh!

feeling... sneaky
listening to... under the milky way --the church
plans for the weekend... a wedding tomorrow. at 11am. whatever.


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26