dried II fresh

the good and the bad

2003-04-04, 2:11 p.m.

There are so many mixed reports on what happened to Jessica Lynch, but it seems all too clear that this girl has suffered cruelly. The latest report from her doctor in Germany tells of fractures in both legs, right arm, right ankle and foot, and her lumbar spine. Now, I'm no expert, but I do work for a company that manufactures devices like those that were just implanted in her spine. This poor girl has been kicked and beaten, probably for days, and it is truly a miracle that this man came along when he did. For today, at least, my faith has been restored in humanity. *smile*


I guess it's been a few days since I've ranted, so while I'm up...

Isn't this a lovely picture?

From an article on BBC News:

French Prime Minister Jean-Pierre Raffarin has pleaded for trans-Atlantic tolerance after graffiti was daubed on a British war cemetery in northern France.

Slogans reading "Death to Yankees" and "Rosbeefs (Brits) go home" were painted on the central memorial in Etaples, near the Channel port of Boulogne in northern France.

The slogans also called for UK Prime Minister Tony Blair and US President George W Bush to be sent to the international criminal court in The Hague.

"Saddam Hussein will win and spill your blood", one slogan read.

Another claimed the graves were "contaminating" French soil.

Hmm. What do you even say about that? There are some really sick fucks out there, but this is pretty despicable. Chirac has no one but himself to blame for what is happening, and (in my opinion) what is probably only going to get worse. Ok, I take it back. My faith in humanity is gone again.

Oddly enough, I don't think this defacing has even been mentioned in the US news. I know that it is mostly British soldiers that are buried there, but I think the American public would want to know about it all the same.


Ok. Off my soapbox. I'm scheduled to leave for France in a little over a week. I don't have a problem with going over there in general, but I am concerned with traveling overseas right now. Between the war and SARS, there is some pretty scary stuff going on right now. I guess I still have a few days to decide.

Anyway, happy birthday Erika, and I hope everyone has a great weekend!


feeling... happy it's Friday
listening to... Warning Sign -- Coldplay
praying for... the families of the other soldiers who are MIA


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26