dried II fresh

decisions, decisions

2003-03-18, 6:55 p.m.

Instead of waxing poetic about the state of the world we live in, or how I think our country is being run by a bunch of monkeys (which I don't), I'd like to discuss something that is currently causing me inner turmoil.

I can't decide if I'm going to get sucked into another season of American Idol.

The first episode that I watched from last season was "Big Band Night" and from that point on, I was hooked. Kelly was just too cute with her polka dot dress singing "Stuff Like That There". The other contestants were okay, but I guess from the beginning I really wanted her to win. But even if she had gotten voted off, I thought the other contestants were good enough to keep my attention.

This season, I started watching it from the beginning, because I heard how funny the auditions were last year. Now granted, the ones this year did get a chuckle or two out of me, but COME ON. There is no way all of those people actually thought they could sing. I bet even "the Keith" was some dorky fraternity prank.

So you get through all of the "funny" shows (and I use that term loosely), and now what are you left with? *Twelve* contestants, not ten. Let's just drag this out a little bit longer, shall we? And none of them have ANY personality. Maybe Tranyce, but they practically had to put a gun to her head first. And the "Hercules! Hercules!" bit is getting old. Quickly.

I guess what it boils down to is that there really isn't anyone who blows my skirt up. They're ok. That's it. And I REALLY don't get what all of the Clay hooplah is about. Yeah, I know... hurray for the underdog, but I don't even like his singing. He reminds me of that guy in Beaches who was auditioning and sang "Que sera sera... / Whatever will be, will be..."

There are probably only two people out there that will get that reference, but now I can't get that guy out of my head. Ugh.

Anyway, I could just as easily blow off the show and just read Shack's recaps, because I know I will end up reading them anyway and then I can have those two hours to do something else (like watch Buffy or Gilmore Girls). I am a *serious* television addict and my time is precious to me.

However, if I start reading the recaps and I find out that I missed something really great? At least the other two shows will be replayed this summer.

My *guess* is, I really won't be missing anything. I think this is one of those shows that has run its course, and has become much too commercialized. They're going to milk every minute they can from the viewing public (an hour long show to announce one person voted off ??) and in the end it's not going to have any entertainment value to it anyway.

I guess that settles it. I'm going to stick to my guns and Just Say No to American Idol. I will get my weekly recap from TWoP (the other serious addiction in my life), and leave it at that. Unless, of course, BtVS and GG are reruns.


feeling... like I really need to get a life
listening to... St Clare -- Suzanne Vega


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26