dried II fresh

out of his league

2003-06-02, 11:41 a.m.

I returned from my trip this weekend to find my computer on the screen that says

"OK, wllybere... blah blah blah... your page has been added.... blah blah blah"

I went to my diary and sure enough, there was a blank entry on my index page. Now, I didn't use my home computer before I left for Baltimore on Friday, so I have no idea how that happened. Was my landlady checking out my diary? Hmmmm....


I heard some pretty funny local news this weekend. A local New Jersey man was mauled after he tried to rescue his dog from a bear. Why is this funny? Because he tried to "rescue" the dog by jumping on the bear's back!

State law requires that any bear that attacks someone be hunted and killed, but after a few hours they called the search off for this particular black bear. It seems the evidence was in its favor this time. From the article:

Bradley M. Campbell, the state's environmental commissioner, said Saturday the incident was no longer considered one that warranted killing the bear.

"It was the homeowner, rather than the bear, that appeared to provoke the encounter," he said.

Strangely enough, Mr. Skrypek was not praised for his methods.

On Friday, police suggested that Skrypek should have attempted aversive conditioning techniques - such as yelling and waving his arms - to frighten the bear away.

But Skrypek said he had tried those tactics before he jumped on the bear's back and wrestled it to the ground.

Heh! You will all be happy to know that both man - and dog - are safe. (And presumably, so is the bear.)


I think the weather is seriously starting to screw with my head. Every place I travel to is sunny and nice, but I can't enjoy it because I'm working. Of course as soon as I travel within 25 miles of where I live, it's cold and raining. Phhhfft.

Today is the closest thing we've had to "nice" in about a month - it's 60 degrees and fair. However, there are giant blobs of pollen floating through the air and rolling around on the ground. My nose hasn't stopped dripping in two days.

I was desperately looking around the office for some sort of decongestant a little while ago, and ended up settling for Tylenol Cold. Well, it didn't occur to me that I had already taken my daily Allegra this morning and that perhaps I shouldn't mix the two antihistamines. The result - my head is just a teensy bit buzzed right now.

Mmmm. Antihistamines.


This should be a relatively calm week for me, as I don't have any more trips planned until next week. We'll see how it shapes out...

feeling... I'm sorry, I just find it funny!
listening to... travis -- more than us
reading... mystic river -- dennis lehane


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26