dried II fresh

good times

2003-07-25, 4:55 p.m.

The implant system that I've been working on for the last year just got cleared for use in the United States by the FDA. Great news for the project, but now it means that if we want to make our October launch date, the heat is on to get a specified number of surgeries completed by August 15th.

The kicker is - these are trauma surgeries. So the only way these are going to happen is if somebody falls off a roof, dives into the shallow end, or flies off the back of a motorcycle.

Kinda feels strange to hope that anything like that happens, but I have to admit... I really, really do.

*ducking from the lightening bolt*

Another way we're getting feedback on the system is by doing a cadaver lab this weekend in Detroit. I've been to many of these labs before, but I've never actually arranged one.

Just for future reference, there are a few things you need to keep in mind should you ever have to do the same...

Do you want an entire body, or just a torso?

Have you gotten a purchase order to pay the mortuary for delivery services?

How soon do you need to take him/her out to thaw?

And last, but certainly not least, have you ordered breakfast to be sent in?

Should be an interesting weekend. I'm taking about twelve people to dinner tomorrow night, then starting the lab Sunday morning. I'm just hoping nothing goes wrong.

This isn't the kind of thing I organize every day.

Thankfully.


feeling... I think it's just about beer-thirty
listening to... warning sign --coldplay
working on... my presentation for sunday morning


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26