dried II fresh

my inner child

2003-08-12, 11:58 p.m.

Is it wrong that when I found this huge millipedey thing in my kitchen sink that I screamed like a six-year-old girl?

Is it even worse that when I realized it couldn't climb out of the sink, I put Sam up on the counter so he could "find" it and play with it? Hee! I had to draw the line when he almost tossed it over the edge, so I turned on the water to wash it down the drain.

Well, my drain has a little food-catchy thing. Oops.

Now I have a semi-dead millipedish thing stuck in one of the drain holes, and I am not ABOUT to go digging that thing out. Sorry.

As it's not going to go away by itself, I'm not really sure what the solution to this problem is.


I got back from Chicago around lunchtime, and went straight into the office. Guess who's in town?

Tom.

There was some big meeting where all the regional managers got called in, and since I haven't been around for awhile, I didn't know about it.

MAN, I wish I had known about it. Maybe I could've prepared or something.

And it sucks because I know that I act completely differently around the one person that I DON'T want to act differently around. I've done that all my life. Hell, maybe I'm just overly sensitive to the situation, but it seems fairly obvious that something's different, because he used to be the first person I would run up to with a big bear hug before all this crap started in April.

Later on as the guys were catching their cars to the airport, I was one of the only people left in the office. My desk happens to be right by the exit.

So what does he feel the need to do? Call and check his freaking messages, standing right next to my desk. I mean, I'm sitting there trying to work, and he's standing there, just listening to his cell phone and staring at me.

God. Does he have no clue how uncomfortable this is for me? So I did the only thing I could do - I made fun of his clothes.

"Hey, I really don't like that tie."

"This is a $150 tie!!"

"Well, it may be - but that doesn't mean it goes with that shirt."

"Well... I usually wear it with a grey shirt... (pointing) This color."

"Which would look fine, because it's a purple and grey tie. You're wearing a PURPLE shirt."

"Thanks a lot!"

"No problem!"

He gave me a look like, "I see how it is..." and smiled as he walked out the door.

Yes, it was childish of me, but I did feel better afterwards. (And the tie *really* did clash with the shirt.)


feeling... tired, and kind of achy
finished reading... running with scissors (SO good!)


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26