dried II fresh

blackout

2003-08-14, 9:50 p.m.

Well this has been a pretty strange afternoon to say the least.... my company was evacuated at about 4:30, and the rumor was possible terrorist attack.

Driving home - hearing that Cleveland, Detroit, Ottawa and Toronto had also blacked out sort of set everybody's imaginations in overdrive, but thank God it wasn't anything like we first thought.

It's a little scary to think of how dependent everything we do is on electricity... I didn't even have a phone line because I either use a cell phone (which was out) or a cordless. We finally got a hold of a Barbie Playtime portable radio which gave us access to some limited news.

My power just came back on about 15 minutes ago, and I wanted to thank those of you who sent a concerned email.... everything's fine (so far)!

I spent the evening playing Uno with my neighbors and helping finish off their melted ice cream. Luckily I wasn't one of those poor bastards stuck in an elevator or subway for 5 hours.

Gotta run, I'm going to track down some more candles in case it goes out again.

feeling... vulnerable
listening to... larry king
NOT watching... I missed amazing race!!!!! grrrr


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26