dried II fresh

stealthy is my middle name

2003-05-01, 11:21 a.m.

I wasn't able to update like I had wanted to in San Diego, primarily because any free time I did have was pretty much spent with Tom. It's not that easy to write about somebody when they're trying to see the url to your site. Heh. I threw him a bone (not like that, ew!) and let him sign my guestmap. Somehow that wasn't quite the same thing for him, but tough titties.

On Sunday I changed my direct flight from Newark to San Diego, so that I could connect with him in Houston and we could fly together from there. As we were eating lunch between flights, we decided that it would probably be a good idea to get adjoining rooms at the hotel, so that if we wanted to watch a movie or something there wouldn't be a chance of any of the other 100 or so people we knew staying at the hotel seeing us. I called the hotel from the airport, so that we wouldn't be observed requesting those arrangements when we checked in.

I have to say, San Diego is just beautiful. Clear, sunny skies, 70 degrees, and it is always like that. Yachts and sailboats everywhere you look, and terrific restaurants that even picky people like me can enjoy.

Anyway, we get to the hotel and get in line to check in. There happens to be only one employee behind the desk, and Tom goes before me. The desk dude takes Tom's name, looks in the computer, and says, "WELL MR. O, IT APPEARS THAT A MS. M CALLED EARLIER AND REQUESTED ADJOINING ROOMS."

cricket.

I wanted to crawl under a rock and die. This is a *hotel* for God's sake. I realize it's not a pay by the hour hotel, but come on.... have a little disgression.

A few minutes later we're both standing on the elevator, and we haven't looked at each other once. He's staring straight ahead at the door as he says, "That could've been bad." Luckily there were only a few people in line behind us, and we didn't know any of them.

It was still a very bad feeling.


feeling... I have *way* too much work to do



dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26