dried II fresh

a week in review

2003-02-26, 2:20 p.m.

Gah! What a fucked up week. Still no news on George, and it finally smacked me in the face yesterday as I tried to prepare for a marketing presentation I had to give this morning. To be blunt, I lost my shit.

It didn't help that my boss made some snarky comment about how it wasn't *his* problem that I left my door open. (This was when I said I was going to leave a little early so that I could look for her in the daylight.) Then he puts the nail in the coffin by adding, "What I can't believe is that she was gone for like, 48 hours and you didn't even know it!" Well, now THAT was helpful.

So, that's pretty much all it took. Granted, he felt bad about his "joke" as soon as he saw me tear up, but it was too late at that point. Whereas yesterday afternoon I thought something was wrong with me because I was tuning it out, yesterday evening all I could see was her sweet little face playing hide-and-seek behind the shower curtain.

So there I sit, on the verge of a breakdown, when in walks my VP of marketing and starts flipping through my powerpoint presentation. That I was going to present today. That he's had in his posession for a WEEK! It's 6pm. And, just in case you didn't get it the first time... THE NIGHT BEFORE! So all of a sudden he's got all this fucking time on his hands, and starts thinking of completely new sections for me to add. I think my boss was looking for the nearest exit out of the building as he heard VP rattling off all these changes I should make. As soon as VP walks out of the room, Boss is like, "You can make those changes, right? It won't take that long, will it?" I wanted to go, "I don't know, WILL IT???"

So, I got about three hours of sleep, woke up to a puffy face, ironed my suit pants that somehow maneuvered themselves under my bed, and proceeded to give the worst presentation of my professional life.

And to top it all off, in little less than two hours I get my yearly review.

Yay!

feeling... crazy
listening to...Sarah McLachlin
reading...the writing on the wall


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26