dried II fresh

high bars and hair balls

2004-08-24, 5:58 p.m.

Several topics I want to hit today, so I'll try to keep them brief.

First of all, I'd like to express my irritation at the judging panel for gymnastics last night. Actually, it's not even LAST night. They had already disqualified three judges for setting a point value that was too low for the Korean gymnast's high-bar routine in the Men's All Around finals on Saturday, resulting in half the world questioning whether Paul Hamm deserved the gold or not.

The long and short of it... the Koreans had the opportunity to contest the point value, but it had to be done immediately after the event. They didn't do it. They waited until the next day, and at that point, it was too late. So instead of sucking it up and blaming the person who didn't immediately contest the start value, they make a big whiny stink about it, and put the pressure on Paul Hamm to push for a second gold medal.

Some people have even suggested he give away his medal, for "goodwill". Goodwill my ass... he worked hard for that medal and he deserves it.

Then, they apparently replace the three disqualified judges with the first three people that walked in the door. "Your gymnastics experience consists of watching your sister's neighbor's daughter dive into a foam pool? You're in!!"

Last night's high bar competition was an absolute embarrassment. The Russian champion from the previous two olympics performed undoubtedly the best routine of the night. In a word, it was awesome. He did six releases - four right in a row, and two others that included somersaults. Most of the other gymnasts only had two or three releases (including Paul Hamm). He had one small step on the dismount, but overall, it was by far the most crowd-pleasing, jaw-dropping routine of the night.

And he got the lowest score.

Obviously this didn't sit well with the crowd, so they boo'd. And boo'd... and boo'd some more. Up to and even DURING Paul Hamm's routine. They boo'd for almost ten minutes, until the judges actually changed the score.

Asshats.

Not that I don't think the score should have been changed. I do. I just think it should have been scored correctly in the first place, if only so that Paul Hamm wouldn't be put into the position where his high score would once again be called into question, which it was.

Paul Hamm should hold his head up high for giving an excellent performance and showing a lot of class throughout that entire assy ordeal.

And Russian Dude? Whatever your name is? You rock.

Ok, so that wasn't exactly brief. Heh. *steps off soapbox*


Last night was one of the first nights in a while that Georgie has slept in my bed. When I went to sleep, she was curled into a ball at the foot of the bed (on the passenger side). At some point during the middle of the night, I heard a familiar sound.

hork...... hork.......hork.......hork.......

Instinctively, I reached for her to throw her off the bed. What I got instead was a handful of hairball, and any subsequent hairball juice that normally proceeds it.

"Geoooorge.... you just puked in my haaaannd!!"

Of course, this is all happening when I'm half asleep, so my first instinct was to run for the bathroom. Which is halfway across the room.

I didn't really remember this event until I was brushing my teeth this morning and saw a big pile of hairy goo in my bathroom trash can, and - upon further investigation - a trail of hairball juice leading from the bathroom to the corner of my bed.

Bitch.

Ok, that one, I'll keep brief.


Meet Zoe.

Zoe needs a home.

Zoe is a 6 year old female who belongs to my co-worker, who - incidentally - is named George. (Ha! ...Although he doesn't find it quite as amusing.)

Human George sought me out this morning, because his wife is 4 months pregnant, and they are trying to find a home for kitty.

Human George knows my weak spots.

On one hand, I would really like to take this kitty. Tomorrow it will be one year ago exactly since Sam disappeared, and Furry George is getting up there in age (she's 12). They could potentially be friends, and it could help Furry George cope better when I travel.

On the other hand, this could possibly really upset Furry George, and it would cause her to be depressed and pee on me and my things, thus making ME all depressed. And then I would have to give Zoe back to Human George, and I'd be even MORE upset about THAT.

Sigh.

She's so pretty, and Human George says she's really sweet and loving and playful. He's even offered to drive her to my house so that we could see how she and Furry George interacted. (I think I have a good guess, but there could always be a miracle.)

I really need to think hard about this decision, because the last thing I want to do is make Furry George miserable.

Even though she did throw up in my hand.

feeling... she looks so soft!!
watching tonight... what else? the amazing race!


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26