dried II fresh

life of wllybere

2003-07-23, 2:31 p.m.

I told a friend of mine, Parx, that I would do this a while back - but well, I'm lazy... so it obviously didn't happen. Yesterday, however, I got a message from someone who was reading my diary and trying to figure out what I do for a living, and she deduced that I am a pilot.

I thought it was pretty funny, but in the interest of having no one think I'm actually responsible for anyone else's life, I thought I would do a bio page.

I'm 32, single and live in New Jersey, having moved up here from Atlanta a year and a half ago. I call Memphis home, though... having grown up and gone to school there. New Jersey is pretty much foreign territory for me.

I'm a marketing manager for a company that manufactures surgical implants, and my job basically involves the development, promotion, and training for new implant systems, as well as driving sales for the products we already have .

I work a lot with surgeons - either those who are customers of ours and are helping us develop new surgical instrumentation, or I'll go out and meet with surgeons who use competitive product to try to get them to convert. I travel a lot... working with sales reps, going to observe surgeries, various surgeon meetings, and training courses.

I'm currently in a transition period from more of a product management position, and am winding up my stint of pulling double duty - hopefully I'll be finished working the other job by September.

If I refer to "John", he was my first manager here and is a good friend - we both worked for the same competitor in Memphis and he's the one who got me to move up here. If I refer to Carl (aka Mr. Vague), he is my new manager since May. That's been an adjustment as well, but is getting better with time.

I'll probably mention the French quite a bit... our corporate office is in France, and I work with a lot of the development engineers who are based there. That's always a treat. Based there as well is our psycho company president, who has fired people on the spot, is openly berating, and one year even cancelled Christmas.

Oh, and if I mention Kristine, she's an engineer based here with me, who has become a really good friend. She's getting married in September, but has still got a little voice that convinces her to venture out into NYC with me, and to do many, many happy hours.

That's about it for me.... I hope this has restored your faith in the fact that it is still safe to fly the friendly skies.


feeling... la femme nikita dvd set got here yesterday... yay!!
listening to... battle flag --lo fidelity allstars


dried II fresh
miss something?
goodbye my friend - 2005-04-29
out of the loop - 2005-04-09
a quest for clarity - part 1 - 2004-08-30
no plan for a sequel - 2004-08-27
slacker of the month - 2004-08-26